Update! Roasted Tomato Appetizer – a little more…

Here is an update to the Roasted Tomato Goat Cheese Baguette Appetizer

Just as tasty with a larger tomato!

**Update – an experiment and great results!  I just experimented with this technique with a larger tomato.  My husband purchased a large bunch of tomatoes on the vine and I could tell we were not going to eat them all before they went bad.  So I thought I would roast them and see how they turned out.  Turns out, just fine!  I used the same technique, trying to remove as many seeds as possible and cut them about 1/4″ thick.  Tossed gently in a bowl with smashed garlic, extra virgin olive oil, salt and pepper.  I was short on time, so I increased the oven temperature to  350 degrees and roasted them for about an hour, turned and roasted about 15 minutes more.  If I do this again on this size tomato, I will use the lower oven temperature and the longer roasting time – as in the original post – 300 degrees for 1-1/2 hours or so.  However, they still were delicious and I used them to make a bold presentation with the addition of arugula leaves, whole grain bread, and a few Kalamata olives in the center of the platter.  Beautiful!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

