Gluten Free Banana Cranberry Chocolate Chip Breakfast Bread

Baked in a variety of forms - loaf, mini loaves, and muffins

Baked in a variety of forms – loaf, mini loaves, and muffins

I worked on this recipe for a long time – I was trying to make it fit the “creative recipe” format where you can use whatever fruit, nuts, sugar, honey, etc. you have on hand.  I played around with the amount of sugars and fat and so on – always with varying results.   And I could never really land on a variable recipe that I felt was acceptable.  Finally, I decided to just dial one version in, so here it is.  I think it has a better texture with the bananas and I really like the tart cranberry with the sweetness of the chocolate.  I think you could substitute finely chopped apple if you can’t find cranberries right now.  I have also used zucchini in the past.  Let me know what you think and definitely let me know if you substitute other fruits successfully.   I’ve also been playing around with a gluten free corn bread – stay tuned…

NOTE:  There is some debate about whether oats are truly gluten free (for example, they could have some gluten if processed in a mill that also processes wheat or other grains).   If you are Celiac or very sensitive, this recipe may not work for you.  Bob’s Red Mill makes a certified gluten-free oat flour that you could evaluate as a possible substitute – or skip this recipe completely if you cannot tolerate oats.

Ingredients:

2-1/2 Cups finely chopped Old-fashioned Rolled Oats*

1-1/2 Cups Brown Rice Flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill)

½ Cup Almond Meal/Flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill)

1/2 Cup Brown Sugar

1 Teaspoon Baking Soda

1/2 Teaspoon Baking Powder

½ Teaspoon Salt

1 Teaspoon Cinnamon

½ Teaspoon Nutmeg

½ Teaspoon Ground Ginger

1 Cup finely chopped Fresh Cranberries**

3 Bananas – smashed

1/3 Cup Unsalted Butter, melted

1 Cup Non-fat Plain Yogurt

2 Eggs, lightly beaten

1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract

1 Cup Semi-sweet Mini Chocolate Chips

*I use a food processor to finely chop a container of Old-fashioned (not ”quick”) Rolled Oats.  Then I measure 2-1/2 cups for the recipe.  I store the rest of the chopped oats in the freezer – save times in the future.

Old-fashioned Rolled Oats - chopped in the food processor

Old-fashioned Rolled Oats – chopped in the food processor

**I buy fresh cranberries in season, finely chop them in the food processor and freeze them in one-cup portions.  Easy to grab a bag each time I make this recipe.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine all the dry ingredients, including the brown sugar in a bowl and mix well.

Combine the yogurt, butter and vanilla in a mixing bowl.  Add the eggs and fruit.  Mix well.  Add the dry ingredients and beat just until well blended.  Add the chocolate chips and mix in.

Spoon into four mini loaf pans.  I use a non-stick pan, but if you are not, you will need to grease the pan.

IMG_1745

Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 30 to 35 minutes – or until toothpick comes out clean.  I usually have to test in more than one place because I frequently hit a chocolate chip when I am testing and all I see is melted chocolate 😉

One response to “Gluten Free Banana Cranberry Chocolate Chip Breakfast Bread

Leave a Reply

