Roasted Broccoflower – a Fun Yum!

Nicely browned, tender but not mushy - yum!

Nicely browned, tender but not mushy – yum!

Hard to resist the fun chartreuse/lime green color of the veggie that looks like cauliflower, but it’s green!  It’s a cross between broccoli and cauliflower (according to the Farmer’s Almanac), and seems milder in taste than cauliflower to me.  I can’t always find it in the stores, but when I do it adds great color to a vegetable tray and always starts a conversation.

I decided to try roasting some the other night, when I spotted some while rummaging through the refrigerator in search of a  veggie to go with dinner.  I was short on time so I sliced it thin, tossed it with a Spanish olive oil I had on hand, and ground a lemon pepper blend on top.  I spread it in a single layer on a baking pan.

Thin sliced broccoflower, tossed with olive oil and seasoning - ready for the oven

Thinly sliced broccoflower, tossed with olive oil and seasoning – ready for the oven

I roasted it at  400 degrees for about 15 to 20 minutes until it was tender and crispy brown in places.   It was delicious and the beautiful color did not fade away.

2 responses to “Roasted Broccoflower – a Fun Yum!

Leave a Reply

