Grilled Nectarines with Honey Lime Glaze

Warm nectarines with a honey lime glaze on top of Tahitian vanilla bean gelato.

Warm nectarines with a honey lime glaze on top of Tahitian vanilla bean gelato.

While we had the grill going…..

I decided to grill up some nectarines to serve over vanilla bean gelato for dessert.  In my mind I saw these perfect fresh nectarine slices lightly coated with honey and lime juice, tossed into a grill basket and coming out slightly charred and tender, with a bit of a caramelized finish.  In reality, it went a bit differently, but oh my, it was delicious! Here is how it went…

Ingredients:

3 fresh RIPE nectarines, washed (I was only making for two people, so you can adjust accordingly)

Honey (as typical for Ms. Creative Recipe, I did not measure – so I am guessing 2 to 3 tablespoons)

Juice from 1 fresh lime (thank goodness nothing to measure here)

Funny story – after I took the nectarines off the grill and was topping the gelato, I spooned up some of the glaze from the foil and said “oh my gosh, this is so good and even kind of crispy chewy, kind of like a candy apple. I hope I can make it again!”  Scott said, “did you write down your ingredients?”  I said “I only used honey and lime juice, but I didn’t measure, I just poured.”  He gave me the look.   My advice since I did not measure?  Add the honey to the lime juice 1 tablespoon at a time.  Taste the honey lime juice mixture.  If it’s too tart, add more honey.  Seriously, that’s a good creative recipe technique to know – taste as you go along!

Directions:

Slice the nectarines off the seed.  This is where I had another detour.  I sliced a nectarine in half around the seed, just like I do with peaches, and tried to twist the two halves apart.  It was so ripe that it mushed up in my hands and did not come off the seed either!  So I just kind of chopped it up in the bowl and captured all the juice.  For the other two nectarines, I sliced “wedges” off the seed, then scraped any remaining flesh in the bowl.  Mix the honey and lime juice in a small bowl and pour over the nectarines.  Stir to coat the nectarines.

Fresh, ripe nectarines with honey and lime juice.

Fresh, ripe nectarines with honey and lime juice.

Since I had all this juice going on, I had to scrub the idea of just tossing the fruit into a grill pan.  Instead, I placed a sheet of “release” foil in the grill pan to contain the juice, hoping the juice would reduce to a syrup.

Ready for the grill.

Ready for the grill.

The grill was already hot (medium heat), so I placed on the grill while the rest of our meal cooked, approximately 20 minutes.  I never stirred, shook or moved the fruit.  You can see the juices starting to simmer.

The juices are beginning to simmer.

The juices are beginning to simmer.

When we sat down to dinner, I turned the grill to low for maybe 15 minutes, then removed.  The fruit stayed warm and the juices continued to reduce.  End result?  The juices had reduced and we had a syrup, and the fruit was tender.  You know your grill best, so these time and temp combinations are only guidelines.

Ready for gelato, or ice cream, or forzen yogurt, or sorbet, or whipped cream, or wherever your creativity takes you!

Ready for gelato, or ice cream, or frozen yogurt, or sorbet, or whipped cream, or wherever your creativity takes you!

When I try this again, I will go for a bit firmer nectarine and try without the nectarine juice to see if my original perfect picture is possible.  Stay tuned for that.  That said, however, I was so happy with the syrup on this version that I would do this again, intentionally mushing up some nectarine for juice to reduce down with the honey and lime.

2 responses to “Grilled Nectarines with Honey Lime Glaze

Leave a Reply

