Tortilla Eggs

Microwave-scrambled eggs with cheese in a tortilla bowl.  Easiest clean up ever!

Microwave-scrambled eggs with cheese in a tortilla bowl. Easiest clean up ever!

This is an easy, easy, easy, easy, easy clean-up egg dish for busy mornings.  Fast, too!

I am perpetually hungry in the mornings, so I sometimes try to eat eggs for breakfast as they’ll keep me going a little longer than just oatmeal or yogurt.  But cooking them always leaves dirty dishes and pans that are stubborn to wash.  I have tried poaching, frying and microwaving, all with the same results – a fairly fast breakfast, but ugh!  The dishes!

When I “scramble” eggs in the microwave (the fastest cooking method, but leaves the MOST difficult dish to clean), I frequently roll them up in a tortilla with cheese and tomatoes or whatever else I have on hand.  A few days ago after soaking and scrubbing the glass Pyrex measuring cup I used in the microwave, I thought, “why not just scramble the eggs in the tortilla?”  Jackpot!  The technique worked well and the bowl was spotless.  This is how I did it:

Ingredients:

1 Tortilla (I used a whole grain, high fiber, low-carb tortilla but you can use your favorite)

2 Large Eggs

Salt and Pepper – dried herbs if you like (I sprinkled on dried chives and dill)

Shredded Cheese – your favorite.  Feta or goat cheese crumbles work just as well.

Directions:

Place the tortilla in a bowl – make sure the bowl is deep enough to support the tortilla once the eggs are in it.  Crack the eggs into the tortilla and beat very lightly with a fork, making sure you do not puncture the tortilla.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper and herbs if desired.  Cover with a paper towel and microwave on high for one minute.

Ready for the first minute in the microwave.

Ready for the first minute in the microwave.

Lightly stir the eggs again, taking care not to puncture the tortilla and top with shredded cheese.  Cover with the paper towel and microwave for up to one minute longer (times are approximate – decrease or increase time accordingly for your microwave).

The eggs have begun to set after one minute.  Give them a light stir before topping with cheese.

The eggs have begun to set after one minute. Give them a light stir before topping with cheese.

Tortilla Eggs light stir top with cheese

Ready to go back into the microwave for the final minute or so.

The finished eggs with cheese!

The finished eggs with cheese!

Remove from bowl and place on plate.   If your taste buds are feeling adventurous, top with tomato slices or salsa.   You could probably also mix in a small amount of  cooked, diced ham or bacon or leftover roasted potatoes or veggies before microwaving.  Adding fresh, uncooked veggies during the cooking time may not work well as they could leach water  and affect how the eggs cook.  I recommend adding fresh veggies as a garnish before serving.

Clean Up:

So, so, so…. On “experiment day” my bowl was so clean I could have put it back in the cupboard (not that I would ever do that…)  But on “photo day”  I was a little careless and slightly punctured my tortilla (hence the warning in the directions above)  A smidgen of the filling seeped out, but it was not “cooked on” and wiped out with a dry paper towel.  Seriously.   I love this easy clean up and hope you will too!  One more reason NOT to skip breakfast.

The bowl when I lifted the tortilla.

The bowl when I lifted the tortilla.

Wiped clean with a paper towel.

Wiped clean with a paper towel.

2 responses to “Tortilla Eggs

Leave a Reply

